The trophies of hockey over the years is a study of the league champiuonships. In this section we take a look at some of the more famous trophies and some of the oldest ones. Be sure to read about the past history of these trophies to further understand the development of the early leagues of hockey.

The Hardware - Trophies

Trophies are what the many leagues play for. The recognition of being the best for any one year or portion of it. The history of the various trophies/cups including the winners is the primary purpose of this section of our site.

Stanley Cup

Currently the Stanley Cup is awarded to the National Hockey League champions. It was first awarded in 1893 to the amateur champions of the Dominion of Canada. The cup went through many different series formats over the years before being awarded to the best professional team starting in 1909. Read more about the Stanley Cup.

Alan Cup

The Alan Cup was first awarded in 1909 and today represents hockey superiority in the Senior Amateur Hockey ranks of Canada. Read more about the Alan Cup.

Calder Cup

Awarded to the champions of the American Hockey League.

Turner Cup

The Turner Cup was presented over a number of years to the International Hockey League Champion. The trophy is currently retired and resides in the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

Avco Cup

The AVCO World Trophy was given yearly to the championship team of the World Hockey Association (WHA). The trophy was donated to the new league in 1972 by the AVCO Financial Services Corporation.

Memorial Cup

Yes we know this is for Major Junior A hockey leagues and really doesn't belong on the site. It is however one of the older trophies around and we recieve many questions regarding it.