Amateur Hockey Leagues formed the basis of hockey as we know it today. One of the earliest trophies awarded after the Stanley Cup was the Allan Cup, currently representing the best amateur team in a Canada Senior League..

1997 Allan Cup Summary

The Allan Cup is the trophy currently awarded to the national senior (21 and over) amateur men's hockey champions of Canada. Read more about the Allan Cup here. The following is a summary for the 1997 Allan Cup Championship.

1997 Teams and Champion

1997 Host Club: Powell River Regals - Powell River Recreation Complex Arena


Powell River Regals - Host Club
Warroad Lakers
Stony Plain Eagles
Truro TSN Bearcats

1997 Champions: Powell River Regals

Game Summaries

Round Robin  
Tues Apr 8 Warroad Lakers 6
Stony Plain Eagles 5
Round Robin  
Tues Apr 8 Powell River Regal 5
Truro TSN Bearcats 2
Round Robin  
Wed Apr 9 Truro TSN Bearcats 8
Stony Plain Eagles 3
Round Robin  
Wed Apr 9 Powell River Regal 4
Warroad Lakers 1
Round Robin  
Thurs Apr 10 Truro TSN Bearcats 4
Warroad Lakers 3
Round Robin  
Thurs Apr 10 Stony Plain Eagles 3
Powell River Regal 3
Fri Apr 11 Warroad Lakers 3
Truro TSN Bearcats 0
Sat Apr 12 Powell River Regals 7
Warroad Lakers 3

All Star Team Selection

Player Selection
Chad Vizzutti - Powell River Regals
David Ross - Warroad Lakers
Scott Mastrodonato - Powell River Regals
Paul Andrea - Truro BearCats
Rick McLaren - Powell River Regals
John Hanson - Powell River Regals