Amateur Hockey Leagues formed the basis of hockey as we know it today. One of the earliest trophies awarded after the Stanley Cup was the Allan Cup, currently representing the best amateur team in a Canada Senior League..

1979 Allan Cup Summary

The Allan Cup is the trophy currently awarded to the national senior (21 and over) amateur men's hockey champions of Canada. Read more about the Allan Cup here. The following is a summary for the 1979 Allan Cup Championship.

1979 Teams and Champion

1979 Host Club: Sarnia, Ontario


Petrolia Gibbons-Squires
Spokane Flyers

1979 Champions: Petrolia Gibbons-Squires defeat the Steinbach Huskies 4-1

Game Summaries

Game 1
Petrolia Gibbons-Squires 6
Steinbach Huskies 5
Game 2 
Petrolia Gibbons-Squires7
Steinbach Huskies 3
Game 3 
Steinbach Huskies 5
Petrolia Gibbons-Squires 4
Game 4
Petrolia Gibbons-Squires 7
Steinbach Huskies 1
Game 5 Petrolia Gibbons-Squires 6
Steinbach Huskies 1